Activation Negation: An Issue of Timing

It’s been entirely too long since I’ve written anything here, and for that I apologize.  I’m still investigating a few things for future articles, and my research isn’t going that well.  However, I have found something that I CAN write about.

Today’s topic is on negating activations.  This simple phenomenon has some surprisingly complex effects on a duel.  But before I get into any of that, perhaps we should define what “negate” actually means in Yu-Gi-Oh!

To “negate” something essentially means to cancel it out, to make it like it isn’t there.  It’s as simple as that, really.  If you negate an effect, you’ve canceled it out.  If you negate an activation, it’s like it never happened.

There’s a huge difference between negating an activation and simply negating an effect.  To negate the activation of a card or effect means that you have canceled that activation entirely.  There’s really no analogy I can give that would perfectly illustrate this, but here’s the best I can do.  The best example might be to say that it’s like erasing something from a record of events.  Like saying something exceptionally offensive in court and the judge orders it stricken from the record (with the exception of “Thank you”).

Negating an effect is very different.  Here’s an example that should illustrate it perfectly: You move to turn on a lamp, but someone else gets their first.  This other person unscrews the light bulb.  They don’t stop you from turning the switch on, but nothing will happen when you do.  That is what negating an effect is.  An in-game example would be activating a Trap Card while Royal Decree is face-up.  You can still activate the Trap Card, but it’ll do about as much good as flipping a light switch with the bulb unscrewed.

Negating an activation is a bit more complex than that.  As far as I know, there are no Continuous Effects that negate activations (Great Dezard is up for debate), so that makes things a bit easier.  However, it’s still tough to explain and understand.  We’ll look at an example to figure it out.

Rick activates Pot of Duality from his hand.  His opponent, Seth, Chains to it with Dark Bribe.  Neither player wishes to respond to that, so the Chain begins resolving.

Dark Bribe negates the activation of Pot of Duality and destroys it, while also letting Rick draw one card.  After all of that’s done, it comes time for Duality to resolve.  But since its activation was negated, nothing happens.  The gamestate has completely forgotten that Duality was activated at all.

Here’s what I mean when I say the gamestate has “forgotten” that Pot of Duality was activated.  Pot of Duality has two conditions on it: The first is that you cannot Special Summon in the same turn that you activate it; and the second is that you can only activate one copy of Pot of Duality per turn.  By negating the activation of Duality, Seth has made the gamestate “believe” that it never happened.  As far as the duel itself is concerned, Duality was never played.  This means that Rick can either Special Summon or activate another copy of Pot of Duality this turn.

I should probably note here that negating a Special Summon directly (i.e. negating a Synchro Summon with Solemn Warning) will NOT create the same situation.  An attempt at Special Summoning was still noted, so Duality could not be played that turn.  The same thing holds true if an effect that Special Summons is activated, but that effect- and NOT its activation- is negated, i.e. Effect Veiler is chained to the effect of Tin Goldfish.

However, if Monster Reborn is activated and the activation is negated (such as by Warning or Bribe), then no Special Summon was attempted- resolution of the card never happened, so you never got to try to Special Summon- and so Duality CAN be played this turn.

That should just about cover it.  Remember, feel free to ask any questions if you have ’em.  The next article will be discussing a tournament policy issue that I encountered while judging my first Regional Qualifier: Card sleeves and the Extra Deck.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Activation Negation: An Issue of Timing

  1. So this means if she en (synchro) and shipping en shot gun dog are on field if I activate a spell and ship en negates this means I can still play another spell? (EX. Lightning vortex?

    • If your opponent’s Legendary Six Samurai – Shi En negates the activation of your Spell or Trap Card while your opponent also controls Great Shogun Shien, then you can activate another Spell or Trap. This is because an activation is considered to never have happened if that activation is negated.

      So as an example, you could play Lightning Vortex and it gets negated by Shi En, and then you could activate Dark Hole right after.

  2. one question, if my opponent activates the effect of chaos sorcerer, and it is negated by ladd, can i activate it again?

    • A very good question. Also, I apologize for taking two weeks to respond. I’ve been on vacation, and I had a wedding to prepare for.

      In order to figure this out, we should look at the texts of the two cards.

      Chaos Sorcerer has the condition “This card cannot attack the turn you activate this effect.”

      Light and Darkness Dragon has this effect: “Once per Chain, during either player’s turn, when a Spell Card, Trap Card, or monster effect is activated: This card loses exactly 500 ATK and DEF and that activation is negated.”

      Finally, we should understand that the word “negate” means to “cancel out”, “nullify”, or “erase”. If an effect is negated, then that means it was canceled out, so nothing happens when it resolves. It’s very much like turning on a lamp when the light bulb has burned out.

      But what does it mean when an activation is negated? An activation is the start of an event, a declaration that something is about to happen. If that is canceled out, then it means that the “declaration” never happened. The event never starts. Think of it like something is being stricken from a court record (with the exception of “Thank you”). It’s like it never happened.

      If the activation of Chaos Sorcerer’s effect is negated, then the activation itself is stricken from the record, and the game thinks that it never happened. Since it never happened, Chaos Sorcerer can attack. Neat, huh?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s