New Card Mechanics: Soul Charge

It’s not often that I write something about how a specific card works.  Heck, it’s not often that I update this blog, and I’m sorry for that.  But with that said, there is a new card that I’d like to review since it has some interesting stuff going on for it.  It’s called Soul Charge and it will be released in Dragons of Legend later this month.

What does Soul Charge do, exactly?  Well, let’s have a look.

Soul Charge is a Normal Spell Card with this effect.  “Target any number of monsters in your Graveyard; Special Summon them, and if you do, you lose 1000 Life Points for each monster Special Summoned by this effect. You cannot conduct your Battle Phase the turn you activate this card. You can only activate 1 ‘Soul Charge’ per turn.”

So a step by step would go like this: First, you play the card and choose your targets.  You can choose any number of monsters, but only up to the number of vacant Monster Card Zones that you have.  So if you have one monster and two zones are blocked by Ground Collapse, you can only chose two monsters.  After this, follow the rules for building Chains.

When resolving the card, you Special Summon any of those targets that are still there to be summoned.  If you do, your Life Points are decreased by 1000 points for every monster that came out of the Graveyard.

This card has two additional conditions for activating it.  First, you must have at least one legal target in your Graveyard.  Second, you cannot enter your Battle Phase and activate this card in the same turn (so no playing it in Main Phase 2, unless you took battle damage from Great Long Nose).  You also cannot activate two copies of Soul Charge in the same turn.

Even with all of this, I’m sure a lot of combos are playing through the minds of well-versed players, as well as ways to stop this card.  Well, I’m afraid I have to dash a few of those possibilities.

First off, take a look at the first three words of the effect: “Special Summon them”.  Notice anything?  Let’s look at one word in particular: “them”.  Those of you who remember your Problem-Solving Card Text will remember that words like “it” and “them” mean that the card doesn’t care that much about specifics during its resolution.  What does this mean for you folks building your Side Decks to stop this card?  It means D.D. Crow won’t be quite as effective.  Sure, you can use it to banish one monster, but Soul Charge will still Special Summon the other targets.  All you’ve really done is prevented one from appearing, and also reduced the amount of Life Points your opponent loses.

Which brings me to my next point: Notice how the card says “you lose 1000 Life Points for each monster Special Summoned by this effect.”  It doesn’t say you take 1000 points of damage.  This is very important.  There are actually three ways to lose Life Points in this game: Damage, payments, and plain old reduction.  Not many cards in the game tell you to “lose” Life Points without calling it damage, but they do exist.

So why is this important?  Because I guarantee that at least one of you was thinking of combining this card with One Day of Peace or Prime Material Dragon, hoping to either prevent or reverse this loss of Life Points.  But since this isn’t “damage”, neither card will do anything to prevent it.  Your Life Points are dropping.  Thus far, there is no card in the game that can prevent simple reduction.

This last thing is also quite minor, but it may prove useful.  The card says, “you can only activate 1 ‘Soul Charge’ per turn.”  If you remember my previous talk about negating activations, this means that if your Soul Charge is stopped in its tracks by a card like Light and Darkness Dragon or Solemn Warning, you are free to activate another copy.  Negating an activation means that the gamestate doesn’t see that an activation happened, nor does it count it as an attempt like it would with Summons.  It never happened as far as the duel is concerned.  However, if only the effect is negated, then you’re out of luck this turn.  And remember, these rules also apply to the “no Battle Phase” condition.

Soul Charge may have some hefty restrictions and clever mechanics to balance it out, but I simply cannot see this card passing by the metagame without making a very big splash.  Keep an eye out for it and be extra cautious when using it.  And remember, this kind of mass summoning is only the beginning.  Coming this summer, I’ll discuss a brand new mechanic!

Until next time, keep dueling!

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “New Card Mechanics: Soul Charge

  1. My question is this. You brought up a lot of good text analysis but what about this text, “Special Summon them, and if you do, you lose 1000 Life Points for each monster Special Summoned by this effect.” Now is the last thing that happen is the special summoning (Life loss is simultaneous) or is it the life loss(Special then loss life)? If it’s the special summoning then Torrential and Bottomless can be used in response but if it’s the life loss then Bottomless and Torrential will miss timing. What’s your thoughts?

    • Yes, the Summon and Life Point decrease are considered to happen at the same time because the card says “and if you do” between them. I probably should have mentioned that in the post. I’ll try to be more thorough in the future.

    • Solemn Warning can negate Soul Charge because it Special Summons. Warning can negate any Summon, or the activation of any Spell/Trap Card or monster effect that Special Summons.

  2. What if I chain soul charge with rainbow life?? (I didn’t have time to read the whole post if there was the answer in there) Peace out
    -your Dear constellar fighter IXnipeZ

    • Rainbow Life works the same way as Prime Material Dragon, in that it converts damage into life gain. Since Soul Charge doesn’t actually inflict damage- it just decreases your Life Points- Rainbow Life will not prevent your Life Points from going down.

  3. Dear sir I read ed um. An amount of your posts and I love to say u are a brilliant
    I try like this posts and I try wanna duel u
    I am starting to get crazy and ask u for author to post some articles also in here xD (P.S:can I have that?)
    Sir consider your fans counter raised by one 🙂
    Your Dear constellar fighter IXnipeZ

  4. This may be a dumb question, but nonetheless it is a very important one. With satellarknights just being released, if you were to soul charge, summoning lets say three satellarknights (which ones are irrelevant as long as they are different) do all of their effects stack and if so in which order, do none of them work because their timing is missed, or is there only one that will go off?

  5. Yes, all three Satellarknights would activate their effects. As for the order, that is something you get to decide. All three effects would activate and go on the same Chain, but you get to decide which Chain Links they actually go on. This is because they are all optional effects.

    The same would be true if they were all mandatory effects.

    The rule is called Simultaneous Effects Go On the Chain- often abbreviated as SEGOC. It goes as follows.

    1) Turn player’s mandatory effect(s)
    2) Opponent’s mandatory effect(s)
    3) Turn player’s optional effect(s)
    4) Opponent’s optional effect(s)

    I’ve talked about SEGOC in previous articles, such as the one where I explained why Neo-Spacian Grand Mole kicks Ally of Justice Catastor’s butt every time they fight.

  6. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s