It’s happened to everyone. You’re in a duel and you activate Monster Reborn, Miracle Fusion, or something similar. And when you Special Summon your monster, your opponent Tributes their Thunder King Rai-Oh to negate the Special Summon.
It’s not entirely their fault. Rai-Oh does say that it can negate Special Summons. It’s just that these duelists are unaware of the rulings regarding summon negation, and if they ARE aware of them, they’ll point out that these are “previously official rulings” according to the Wiki since the TCG rulings are located on Horn of Heaven. Even pointing out the OCG rulings doesn’t always work.
But that doesn’t make them any less wrong about it.
Thunder King cannot negate a Special Summon made through an activated card or effect. It’s that simple. It cannot negate a Special Summon made through Monster Reborn. It cannot negate a Ritual Summon or a Fusion Summon. It cannot negate a Special Summon made through Mystic Tomato.
But why is that? Many would say it’s simply “because Konami said so.” That’s not entirely true. Sure, you could argue that EVERY rule is because Konami said so. But nearly every ruling has logic behind it. This ruling is no different.
There’s a rule that I don’t believe many people are aware of. It is the rule that while a Chain is resolving, other cards and effects cannot activate. And before you ask, this has everything to do with Rai-Oh because it explains why Rai-Oh cannot stop these Special Summons. They are happening while a Chain is resolving, and Rai-Oh cannot activate at that time.
And you can’t just have Rai-Oh negate the summon after the Chain has resolved either. By the time you CAN activate his effect, it’s too late. The summon is already successful. (There is one exception to this scenario, but I’m not sure I would call it an exception: An Xyz Summon made through Advanced Heraldry Art. But that’s because Heraldry Art tells you to perform that Xyz Summon AFTER it has resolved, which is the point when Rai-Oh can activate.)
It’s not really a difficult rule to follow either. A lot of players seem subconsciously aware that it exists. Proof of its existence is in the “Missing the Timing” rulings (discarding Peten the Dark Clown as a cost or sending it to the Graveyard on Chain Link 2), and can also be seen on Drill Warrior (the rule that says you cannot use Bottomless Trap Hole or Torrential Tribute when Drill Warrior Special Summons himself from the banished pile if you add a monster to your hand afterward).
I’m sure most players can easily figure out what Rai-Oh can and cannot negate with his effect if they are aware of this rule. Just in case, I’m going to provide a list of what the Big Three summon negation cards can actually stop.
Thunder King Rai-Oh
- Can negate any Special Summon which does not use the Chain.
- Can negate the Special Summons of Cyber Dragon, Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning, Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World, Machina Fortress, Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon, and Dark Armed Dragon.
- Can negate the Special Summon of a Fusion Monster made through its own summoning conditions, such as Gladiator Beast Heraklinos.
- Can negate Synchro Summons (except those made through the effects of Formula Synchron, T.G. Wonder Magician, and Urgent Tuning).
- Can negate Xyz Summons (except those made with the upcoming “Rank-Up Magic” Spell Cards).
- Cannot negate Special Summons made through any card or effect that “activates”. (Monster Reborn, Mystic Tomato, Infernity Launcher, Call of the Haunted, High Priestess of Prophecy, Kagetokage)
- Can negate all the same stuff as Rai-Oh.
- Can negate Normal and Flip Summons.
- Can negate “extra” Normal Summons (such as through Swap Frog or Double Summon).
- Can negate the activation of any monster effect or Spell/Trap Card that Special Summons. (Goblindbergh, Monster Reborn, Call of the Haunted, Trap Monsters)
- Can negate the activation of any monster effect or any Spell/Trap Card that, at activation, lets you know you have the option of Special Summoning on the card. (Macro Cosmos, Starlight Road, Grapha when discarded by an opponent’s card effect)
- Cannot negate the activation of a card or effect that does not expressly give a Special Summon option on its initial activation. (Infernity Launcher)
- Cannot negate Spell/Trap effects.
- Cannot negate a Normal Summon through Ultimate Offering. (Same reason Rai-Oh cannot negate a Special Summon through Monster Reborn).
- Can negate any Summon that doesn’t use the Chain.
- Can negate “extra” Normal Summons gained through cards like Double Summon.
- Can negate the activation of any Spell/Trap Card.
- Cannot negate Spell, Trap or monster effects.
That should just about cover it. Always remember: If a Chain is resolving, wait until its done. If you’re ever in a duel and your opponent won’t believe you on this rule, you can show them this article if you like (I don’t mind getting additional followers, and I’m not ashamed of saying so), but it’s much better if you show them the wiki, some official source for rulings, or just ask the first registered judge that comes along. They’ll tell you what’s up.